Praying for the Christmas

Christmas-Miracle-Blog-.jpg

The request to God is the thing that tripped us up. It was the first Christmas that my wife and I facilitated in our home, and for a decent 10 minutes, our two families remained around the supper table contending about how to thank God for the dinner we were going to consume.

Christmas 2014 Cards

My mother, a conceived again Christian, needed our request to God tended to Jesus. It was Christmas, when its all said and done; we were observing Jesus’ marvelous conception. “Shouldn’t we in any event petition him?” she asked sheepishly.

My younger sibling, an ardent Muslim, cherishes and respects Jesus as a prophet and ambassador of God. In any case she had no expectation of appealing to him. She balanced her hijab and muttered the Shahada under her breath (“I admit there is no god yet God”) as a sort of talisman to ensure her against my mother’s “blasphemy.”

Merry Christmas 2014 Cards

My center sister, an activist nonbeliever, was remarkably irritated with the whole exhibition. She thought that it was tricky to accept we were remaining around the supper table, viewing the sustenance go frosty, as we pondered which nonexistent divinity we ought to appeal to before we could begin consuming. “Why don’t we simply appeal to Santa Claus?” she said. Nobody else found that clever.

My wife’s family, evangelicals from Pittsburgh, was basically befuddled regarding why we were serving rice and shish kebabs with our Christmas turkey and pureed potatoes.

At long last, my wife thought of a thought. “Why don’t we let Reza choose?” she proposed, volunteering me to be the arbitrator in this request to God match.

I assume her proposal boded well. I am a researcher of religions who has committed his life to mulling over the confidence customs of the world and afterward showing those conventions to individuals who don’t impart them. For me, this first Christmas at the Aslan family was for all intents and purpose field research. As I viewed these individuals from various religious and social foundations explore an occasion with truly particular religious and social affiliations, I was enticed to haul out my note pad and start scribbling down my perceptions.

Wish you all a great Merry Christmas 2014

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Kerala SSLC Results 2015 coming today

It has been made official now that the Kerala board SSLC 10th exam results will be declared today at around 4 PM. Students must be excited as well as nervous for their results. We advise students to be in touch with the Kerala board... Continue →